Newark Municipal Court
The Honorable Judge Jim Minter
The Honorable Judge Renee Culp
Prosecutor - Ashley McSwain
Municipal Court Clerk - Sarah Williams
Next Court Date Scheduled:
Thursday, June 1, 2017
COURT APPEARANCES AND PLEAS
If you were issued a citation, you must make an appearance to determine your plea in person or by mail within 10 calendar days of the date of the violation.
A TELEPHONE CALL DOES NOT CONSTITUTE AN APPEARANCE!
Please consider each plea before making a decision.
PLEA OF NOT GUILTY- means that you deny guilt or that you have a defense in your case. You may hire an attorney or you may represent yourself. You are entitled to a jury trial. If you waive a trial by jury, the judge will hear your case.
PLEA OF GUILTY- means that you admit the act is prohibited by law, that you committed the act charged, and that you have no defense or excuse for your act.
PLEA OF NOLO CONTENDERE - means that you do not contest the State's charge against you. A plea of nolo contende can not be used against you in a civil suit.
If you fail to appear either in person or via mail as provided by law, a warrant may be issued, and you may not be permitted to renew your driver's license or register your vehicle in this state.
Under our American system of justice, all persons are presumed to be innocent until proven guilty.
DEFERRED DISPOSITION (PROBATION)
Your request for deferred disposition must be received by the court before your appearance date. If your request is granted by the judge, you will be notified by mail and you must comply with the terms ordered, pay the amount of the fine plus an additional $25.00.
YOU ARE NOT ELIGIBLE FOR DEFERRED if you hold a Commercial Driver's License or if the offense occurred in a construction zone with workers present.
DEFERRED DISPOSTION--DRIVING SAFETY COURSE
If you are charged with a moving violation, you may request before your appearance date to take
a driving safety course. At the time of request, you must present proof of liablity insurance, copy of Texas Drivers
License, and pay court costs/administrative fees ($109.10 or $134.10 for school zone offense).
PLEASE NOTE: You are eligible to request driving
- have a valid Texas Driver's License,
- auto insurance in your name,
- have not taken course in past 12 months,
- DO NOT hold a commercial driver's license,
- have not committed one of the following offenses:
a. failure to give information at accident scene
b. leave scene of accident;
d. a serious traffic violation;
e. in construction zone with workers present;
f. speeding 25 mph or over limit.
g. submit a NOTARIZED statement stating that you have not taken the course in the last (12) months.
Imposition of judgement will be deferred to allow you to complete a driving safety course that has been approved by the TEXAS EDUCATION AGENCY. You MUST present to the court your certified driving record from the TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY.
YOU MUST FILE YOUR DRIVING RECORD AND COURSE COMPLETION CERTIFICATE WITHIN 90 DAYS FROM THE DATE OF THE REQUEST, or your case will not be dismissed and the offense will appear on your driving record.
To determine the amount of your fine. Contact Sarah Williams, Court Clerk @ 817-489-2201, (Monday - Friday 10am to 5pm)
The Court has a 24-hour payment drop box located in the front of City Hall - 209 Hudson Street or mail to P. O. Box 156 Newark, TX 76071.
You may pay by credit card, check or money order made payable to "The City of Newark."
****NO OUT OF STATE CHECKS****
You must include your name and citation number with your payment.
If you plea NOT GUILTY, you will be notified by mail of your court date for a PLEA HEARING.
YOU ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR NOTIFYING THE COURT OF ANY ADDRESS/MAILING CHANGES.
If you plead not guilty, you need to decide whether to hire an attorney to represent you or you may represent yourself.
Court Hearings are held in the evening at the Newark City Hall, 209 Hudson Street, Newark, TX 76071.
If you need a continuance for your trial, you must put the request in writing and submit it to the court with your reasons within 72 hours of your trial.
The judge will make a decision whether or not to grant the continuance.
Municipal court has jurisdiction over minors (age 17 or younger) charged with Class C misdemeanor offenses, Public Intoxication (age 17-20), Possess/Consume Alcohol (under age 21), and Possession of Tobacco (under age 18).
ALL MINORS MUST APPEAR IN OPEN COURT WITH
THEIR PARENT for all court proceedings in their case. Minors who fail to appear or who fail to pay their fine will be reported to the Department of Public Safety who will
suspend their driver's license. Minors who do not have a driver's license will not be able to obtain one until their case is resolved.
WARNING: A child and parent required to appear before the court have an obligation to provide the court the current address and residence of the child.
In addition to a fine, court costs mandated by state and local law will be charged.
Speeding - Depends on the number of the miles over the speed limit and whether or not you were in a school zone or a work zone with workers present. Fines start at $174.10.
No Insurance - $266.00 for first conviction
$412.00 for a subsequent conviction
Unrestrained Child - $274.10
Driving While License Invalid- $266.10
Expired D.L., Expired Vehicle Registration, or Inspection may be dismissed by the court IF PROOF OF RENEWAL is presented BY THE APPEARANCE DATE with a $20.00 administration fee within 10 DAYS.
***Fees subject to change, please call the clerk to verify fine amounts 817-489-2201**
NOTE: A $25 time payment fee will be added in if not paid in full within 30 days from judgement date.